Home > Uncategorized > FIRED

FIRED

Well folks, I was finally fired today. You will have to forgive me for speaking vague terms on this post. I am going to undoubtedly involved in a unemployment benefits battle with Alpine Access in the coming months and I don’t want to post anything that they could potentially twist and use against me.

First off, I was fired today. The official reason is “Job Abandonment”. The last two days that I had to work I was ill and filled out the time center post that is required but I did not email my Team Leader, Shaneka Hamidou about it. 

This is AT BEST a violation of some vague and over burdensome policy buried somewhere in the recesses of unorganized and exploitative mess that is Alpine Access. 

I emailed the big wigs (or douche bags, whichever you prefer), at Alpine Access to tell them that this is clearly a thinly veiled attempt to deny me unemployment benefits. 

They may seek to make an example of me but I am going to be the first employee that get’s my just pound of flesh from them. I won’t go away quietly, I will fight for my unemployment and I will still keep this blog up so that perspective employees and potential clients of Alpine Access can hear about how this grossly exploitative and terribly unorganized and inefficient company operates. 

I will also press on with my case before the NLRB that is being decided in Washington DC. That way when they set the parameters for “Virtual Labor Organizing” they will have documented rules on it. 

Once that precedent is set there are going to be call center unions popping up all around the country. Mark my words. 

As we enter chapter 2 on this blog I wanted to offer some real talk for a second. This is the most heartfelt thing that I have posted on here. 

First, I have had many jobs. Including 3 work from home ones of this nature. Working for Alpine Access is hands down THE WORST job that I have ever had. Not just because it ended badly but because of the deep seated structural problems within the company. From grossly unqualified teens that have been elevated to supervisory roles, to grandiose false promises that never come close to being met, to a total disorganization and massive disconnect between the corporate day-walkers and the call takers. 

The work atmosphere has been toxic since after the holidays. We are constantly expected to take on more roles with not hopes of tangible pay increases. The only incentives are threats that other people can easily be hired and more cheaply to fill our positions.

Lastly, I am not upset to leave this job. It is a horrid job (even worst then manual labor jobs I have done in the past)

I will be adding more in the coming days and months.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Current Employee
    May 17, 2012 at 8:39 pm

    I am on my way out as soon as I find a new job. Sorry that you are going to have to jump through hoops to get what you deserve

  2. Paul Beatty
    May 27, 2012 at 2:38 pm

    Good luck, Joe. The bastards fired me in April too because I dared to question why they had cut our hours to almost nil when we were promised a full time job. They denied my unemployment too and when I filed an appeal, was asked to send a list of witnesses and present evidence on my behalf. Good luck with that, huh? They cut off my access to everybody, my email and their system immediately at my discharge. Luckily, within 3 weeks, I found another job that pays double what these assholes do and with benefits. F*** Alpine Access, Chris Carrington and (Up)Chuck Gregis! Wishing you Godspeed in your efforts, Joe. Hang in there, buddy.

    • L
      August 6, 2012 at 6:23 pm

      Paul would you mind telling me where you got the new job? I know my fiance is trying to get out of Alpine so badly and is not sure where to go.

      • Paul Beatty
        August 7, 2012 at 4:51 am

        I went back to my previous employer when they had an opening for a Prepress Tech. in KY.

  3. June 27, 2012 at 12:39 pm

    There are now three unions trying to organize Alpine Access workers. There are the CWA (Communication Workers of America), IBEW (International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers) and the much more radical one that I support, the IWW (Industrial Workers of the World). The Alpine Access IWW organizer has a Facebook page you can like, the Facebook page is called “AlpineAccess Iww” and we recently made a comment on the “Alpine Access Sucks” page asking for interested parties to contact us. The Alpine Access Sucks page has over 1300 likes. Also, if you are interested in joining the IWW Union, we do not take dues out of your paycheck and our dues are much smaller then either of the other two unions trying to organize the Alpine Access workplace.

  4. L
    July 4, 2012 at 2:39 pm

    My friend is on his way out too and may want to help your efforts. He’s been with the company for years and has seen a lot. I think his experiences could help your efforts so please contact me and I’ll get you in touch.

  5. Laura
    July 19, 2012 at 3:58 pm

    Good luck! I hope that you get what you deserve. Sorry to read that you were fired.

  6. Kent
    July 23, 2012 at 2:09 pm

    Did you get your unemployment? I know of someone currently there who is not making the wage promised.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

